Deposit Change in Your Local Bank: A Step Forward

Sometimes it seems overwhelming.
  
What can I do to make a difference?

The government is so huge and I am just one person. The economy is out of control and there’s nothing I can do about it. I need a job to provide food and shelter for my family. I can’t march on Wall Street, I have responsibilities.

Gandhi said, “Be the change you wish to see in the world.”

Here’s a simple thing you can do, without shirking your responsibilities, without marching on Wall Street, without jeopardizing your future or your family’s well-being.

You can take your money out of large, international “too big to fail” banks, and you can put it safely in accounts in local, community banks and credit unions.

It’s a great American tradition, to keep your money in local banks, where Jimmy Stewart can lend it to Giuseppe Martini to buy a house for his wife and family, to Mrs. Wainwright for her new kitchen, to Joe to open a new luggage store.

Local banks invest in your own community, not in international profit ventures in far-away countries. Your money stays to work for you, providing jobs right here at home. Your money circulates throughout the town several times, building friends, multiplying like the two dollar bills George Bailey and Uncle Billy put back in the safe to make more dollars for everyone. 

Just think of the change you will start when you walk into your imposing BIG BANK, take out all your money, and walk down the street to a modest and sufficient Local Bank or Credit Union, and proudly deposit your funds in your local institution. 

It’s an act for you, as well as for your family, your community, your friends and neighbors.
One thought on “Deposit Change in Your Local Bank: A Step Forward

  1. This is such a cool individual act. If one has some term CDs in one's existing bank and does not want to lose interest by taking them out before their maturity, just leave them in the BIG BANK until they mature. Take everything else out (checkings, savings) and remove the term CDs as they expire and transfer them to your local credit union or bank. I did this. And each time I did so, I said “I am taking my money out of this bank because it is too big to fail…and I am putting it in my small, local bank.” I was always polite as I made my point.

    Like

Leave a Reply

