War… and peace

It’s been said that war is the basis for the organization of any state society. We see it now in operation in the United States, which has changed, in the space of some 40 years or so, from a country seeking world peace to a global imperialist nation seeking to dominate the world.

I can still hear John Kennedy saying,

“What kind of peace do we seek?  Not a Pax Americana enforced on the world by American weapons of war.  Not the peace of the grave or the security of the slave.  I am talking about genuine peace, the kind of peace that makes life on earth worth living, the kind that enables men and nations to grow and to hope and to build a better life for their children–not merely peace for Americans but peace for all men and women–not merely peace in our time but peace for all time.”

That dream is lost, smothered under the bodies of men, women and childen killed in the name of US imperialism, a Pax Americana that has yet to achieve peace. As the 60s slogans said, “Fighting for peace is like fucking for virginity.”

Not only has the United States government chosen oppression over freedom abroad, the freedoms our citizens have historically enjoyed have been eroded continualy over the past 40 years. Yes, I’m able to publish my dissent on this electronic notice board, and, it is already being perused by agents of the United States government (I know, as I track visiters to my web site.) I expect the slow knock on my front door any day now.

All the more important to soldier on, raise the voice of dissent clearly and distinctly above the brawl of war. I am a pacifist. I am no imperialist. I insist that my country follow the path of peace desired by the majority of the people. I insist that those who have stolen this country away from its people retire from the scene before we have to take them out by force.

Rebellion is good for the human soul, encouraging us all to rise on our back legs and stand up to the lovers of darkness who seek to steal our country under cover of night.

We are the bringers of light. It’s time to welcome the dawn.

Michael

Leona Gulch

Pacific Plate

Leave a Reply

